Holy grail skin care: for dry skin

For my first blog post, I have decided to talk about my holy grail routine for my dry skin. As I’m sure most of you with dry skin can relate, it can be hard to tackle, especially in the colder weather conditions! (Living in the North West of England certainly doesn’t help.) I have been having a few issues with the texture and the dryness of my skin recently, so I thought I would write this post to show people what actually worked for me. Obviously I am not a dematologist or anything like that, but this post is personally what worked miracles for me.

– Water, water, water

The first thing that I can’t stress enough which is probably fairly obvious, is to drink at least 2 litres of water per day. I have to admit, this is my personal down fall as I drink a lot of tea/coffee and even fizzy drinks. However, I challenged myself 2 litres a day and combined with my strict skin care routine I could notice the difference within 3/4 days!

Holy grail products

My skin care routine usually takes me around 5 minutes (if that) The following steps will show you the order in which I carry out my skin care routine, and the products that have helped to resurface my textured skin and combat dryness:

1) Exfoliate:

For me, exfoliating is the most important part of a skin routine for somebody with dry skin. To prevent dead skin cells from building a layer (causing texture of the skin), it is crucial to make sure you are exfoliating at least twice a week (depending on how dry your skin is). For me, I can usually tell when my skin needs exfoliating as it feels quite scaly on and around my nose, and so I usually exfoliate around 3-4 times a week in my morning routine to prevent this.

IMG_0011

 

My holy grail exfoliator that I discovered a few weeks ago and I now couldn’t see myself without it is the Superdrug ‘Naturally Radiant Brightening Micro Polish’ £4.99. I have to say, I wasn’t really expecting much from the product, as usually own brands haven’t done much for me! However, after the first use I knew this was my new HG exfoliator. The scrub like gel contains Kiwi (antioxidant), Mulberry extract (brightening properties) and grape seed oil (conditioning/soothing properties). Unlike other exfoliaters I have tried, this product actually stripped my skin from scaliness/dry patches and didn’t leave my skin feeling tight or sore – which is a huge plus for me as I have extremely sensitive skin. I would recommend this for anyone suffering with dry skin as this creates a ‘fresh canvas’ for your face and leaves it feeling amazingly soft, not to mention the low price!

2) Cleanse

I cleanse my skin both day and night – to ensure my skin is thoroughly clean, dead skin cells are removed and to unclogg my pores. For cleansing, I have two holy grail products:

 

IMG_0010

The first, and probably my favourite cleanser at the moment is the ‘Nip + Fab Glycolic Cleansing Fix’ £7.95. The cleanser contains 2% Glycolic Acid which aims to exfoliate and retexture the skin. Despite the formula of the gel not containing any microbeads or anything like that, I can definitely feel this cleanser exfoliating my skin. The product has done massive amounts for me, resurfacing and retexturing my skin just as I need. You can probably tell by how much of the product is left how much I love this cleanser!

 

IMG_0012

The second product for cleansing I have been loving at the moment is the ‘Soap and Glory Vitamin C Facial Wash’ currently on offer for £5.33 at Boots. I have only been using this product for around a week but I can already tell it’s a HG! The bottle is huge and you only need a small amount of product each time, making it great value for money. The product itself contains scrub particles, which you can barely feel against your skin when lathering the product, making it a great cleanser for everyday use. This product has become my holy grail as it refreshes and cleans my skin without being irritated by the beads – so I would definitely recommend to anybody with dry, sensitive skin.

3) Moisturising

Obviously, a key step in eliminating dry skin is adding moisture to your skin. I have 2 HG moisturisers: 1 for day, 1 for night.

 

IMG_0006

My day time moisturiser is the ‘Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel’ £12.99. This product is unlike any other moisturiser I have ever used, as it is not sticky or greasy, but absors into the skin in seconds – which I love love love! The product refreshes the skin but it also contains Hyaluronic Acid that ‘acts like a sponge for dry skin cells’ which is what us dry skin sufferers need in a moisturiser. The product smells amazing but isnt overpowering, and is so lightweight leaving it almost impossible to tell you have anything on. Although the product may be a little pricey compared to other products, I would definitely recommend purchasing.

 

IMG_0008.JPG

The second HG moisturiser I love is the ‘Body Shop Vitamin E Sink-in Moisture Mask’ £11.00. This cream is another product I have relied on to get rid of my dry skin. I believe they have changed the packaging for the product, but from reading online reviews, the formula seems to be very similar, if not the same. The product is designed to be used at night, as it gives your skin such an intense hydration which may be too shiny/greasy looking to use in the day. If your skin is suffering from intense dryness I would massively recommend this product, as it leaves your skin feeling dewy overnight, giving the hydration your skin needs.

4) Spot/Blemish control

Another key step for my skincare routine is preventing/treating my blemishes. I am fortunate to have rather ‘clear’ skin, but I do get outbreaks of spots at least once a month. To clear these blemishes, these are the products I use:

 

IMG_0005

‘Witch naturally clear blemish gel’ £2.99. This product is great for reducing the redness and size of blemishes overnight. I use this in the day if I feel I need it, but mostly at night. The formula is thin, smells nice, reduces the size of blemishes and is refreshing – whats not to love? For the price, I would recommend making this part of your skin care kit.

 

IMG_0007

A product I have been using for a few months now is the ‘Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Serum’ £14.95. I have found this product best useful for reducing my scarring and redness on my face. After 2 weeks I could tell my scarring from spots had lightened quite a lot and it left my face feeling retextured, which probably went well with the whole routine I had been doing. The product leaves my skin feeling firm, plumped and refreshed in the morning so I would definitely recommend to anyone that might not have time for a lengthy morning skincare routine.

Finally, I would just like to say, achieving your perfect skin isnt going to happen overnight so it is important not to slack off when it comes to skin care. I hope this post has been useful for any of those looking to rejuvenate their dry, textured skin!

Leave a Reply

